Ahuwhenua Trophy finalists announced

Three top-performing sheep and beef enterprises have been named as the premier award for Māori in agriculture marks its 80th anniversary.

The finalists in 2013 Ahuwhenua Trophy BNZ Māori Excellence in Farming Award have been announced. They are:

  • Te Uranga B2 Incorporation – Upoko B2
  • Te Awahohonu Forest Trust – Tarawera Station
  • Te Hape B Trust – Te Hape Station

The Ahuwhenua Trophy was established by Sir Apirana Ngata in 1932 and relaunched in 2003 with support from sponsors across the agriculture sector, including Beef + Lamb New Zealand.

Management committee chair, Kingi Smiler says the competition’s longevity reflects the commitment Māori farmers have, as kaitiaki of their lands for future generations.

“It is also a celebration of their continued resilience over the years and their business acumen in performing at a consistently high level.”

Smiler says the contemporary competition highlights successful collaboration with the wider business, banking and farming communities.

“Increasingly Māori farmers are exploring opportunities beyond the farm-gate to develop direct links between the products they produce and customers in international markets.”

Public field-days will be held on the property of each finalist before the supreme award winner is announced at an awards dinner in Taradale on 7 June.

1 Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Ahuwhenua Trophy finalists on tenterhooks | It's MeatExportNZ

Leave a Reply