Record numbers of snarlers set to sizzle

2012 Devro New Zealand Sausage of the Year winners (left to right) are: David & Trina Crosbie, Franklin Country Meats (2012 People’s Choice Award winners), Brian Tilbrook from Devro and Don Andrews from Island Bay Butchery (2012 Supreme Award winner).Entries are in and the stakes are being raised as a record number of sausages have been entered for the 2013 Devro New Zealand Sausage Competition.

Almost 460 humble snarlers will travel from across the nation to amass in Auckland for a three day marathon judging process in mid-October.

All competing retailers behind their prizes sausages will be hoping for the big win, which has been reported to lead to a significant increase in sales for the summer barbecue season.

2012 Supreme Award winner, Don Andrews from Island Bay Butchery in Wellington, says winning the top prize was the ultimate.

“You’ve got to be in to win. We’ve been entering for over 13 years and about 15 of our sausages now hold medals, but taking home the Supreme Award last year just blew me away” says Andrews.

The next step for those entered is a week of mystery shopping where all entries will be anonymously picked up and sent to Auckland for judging.

Entries will be judged in one of ten categories, which range from Traditional Beef, to Continental Ready-to-Eat and Gourmet.

The final step in the process sees the winner from each category pitted against the others for the Supreme Award crown.

The competition is supported by Devro, Kerry Ingredients and Alto Packaging.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply