Award-winning meat writers

Neal Wallace (right) receiving his award from Alliance Group chairman Murray Taggart.

Writing about the meat industry is in good heart, with two meat writers receiving awards for their work at the Guild of Agricultural Journalists & Communicators’ 2015 awards dinner on Friday night.

Stephen Bell (right) received his award from Jan Keir-Smith of B+LNZ Ltd.
Stephen Bell (right) received his award from Jan Keir-Smith of B+LNZ Ltd.

Stephen Bell, writing for NZ Farmers Weekly, won the Beef + Lamb NZ News Award, which recognises excellence in hard news journalism, focusing on any aspect of the beef and sheep industry for a collection of items focusing on Silver Fern Farms’ roadshow last October/November.  The Alliance Group Ltd Red Meat Industry Award was scooped up by Neal Wallace, also writing for NZ Farmers Weekly for two articles: one focusing on Silver Fern Farms push with branded products; and the other an interview with owner of Lone Star Farms Tom Sturgess.

The Guild’s top award was won by Radio New Zealand presenter and producer, Susan Murray. The supreme award, the Ministry for Primary Industries Rongo Award, recognises excellence in agricultural journalism. Murray also won the Federated Farmers Broadcast Journalism Award. Susan is part of the hour-long Countrylife radio programme presented on Friday nights and repeated on Saturday morning.

Other award winners were:

  • AgResearch Science Writers Award: Jon Morgan, NZ Farmer
  • AGMARDT Agribusiness Award: Country-Wide team
  • Ballance Agri-Nutrients Farm Business Writing Award: Sonita Chandar, NZ Farmer
  • Dairy NZ Dairy Industry Journalism Award: Gerald Piddock, Waikato Times
  • Federated Farmers Rural Photography Award: Tony Benny, freelancer writer and photographer
  • Horticulture NZ Journalism Award: Elaine Fisher, Coast & Country, Avoscene
  • The guild’s Agricultural Journalism Encouragement Award: Jemma Brackebush, Radio NZ Rural News.

Congratulations to all. You can see/hear most of the 2015 winning entries here.

The awards are judged independently by a panel of peers.

The 2015 awards were held later than the usual October timing because of a clash with the Guild’s hosting of the International Federation of Agricultural Journalists’ World Congress. The 2016 awards will be held as usual this October.


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: