Henry van der Heyden is new chair for Rabobank NZ

Henry van der Heyden, new Rabobank chairman.

Rabobank has announced the appointment of Sir Henry van der Heyden as chairman of Rabobank New Zealand Limited, succeeding John Palmer who has retired from the board. 

The bank has also announced Scales Group managing director Andy Borland has joined the New Zealand board, filling the position left vacant by Palmer’s departure.

The world’s leading specialist food and agribusiness bank, Rabobank is one of New Zealand’s largest rural lenders and a major provider of corporate and business banking services to the country’s food and agribusiness sector.  The bank also operates online retail savings and investments business RaboDirect.

Announcing the New Zealand board changes, chairman of the international Rabobank Group Wiebe Draijer said the bank was fortunate to have an experienced agribusiness leader and seasoned company director of van der Heyden’s calibre take over the chairmanship of Rabobank’s New Zealand operations.

The former chair of global co-operative dairy giant, Fonterra, van der Heyden has been a director of Rabobank New Zealand since 2012.

“Sir Henry van der Heyden is one of the most experienced and respected agribusiness leaders and company directors in the country,” says Draijer. “His knowledge and understanding of the agricultural sector and wider business environment, both in New Zealand and globally, is unparalleled. Combined with both his passion for agriculture and his strong track record as a director of Rabobank New Zealand, Henry’s appointment as chairman ensures a seamless transition at the head of our New Zealand board.”

Van der Heyden also serves as chairman of Auckland International Airport Ltd, Manuka SA and Tainui Group Holdings the commercial arm of Waikato Tainui. He also sits on the boards of Foodstuffs North Island, Pascaro Investments and Rabobank Australia.

He was named 2007 New Zealand Herald Business Person of the Year, 2012 New Zealand Chairman of the Year and received the trans-Tasman Agribusiness Leadership Award in 2015. In 2017, he was appointed a Distinguished Companion of the New Zealand Order of Merit for his services to agriculture.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: